Maaya Sakamoto announces release of 11th Album


Maaya Sakamoto, the renowned Japanese singer, songwriter, and voice actress, has announced the release of her 11th full-length album. The album, which has been long-awaited by her fans, is set to be released on May 31, 2023.

The album is a conceptual follow-up to her previous work, Kyou Dake no Ongaku, and will feature an all-star lineup of talented creators, including Yu Arauchi (cero), Yuho Iwasato, Daisuke Kawaguchi, Shigeru Kishida (Quruli), Katsutoshi Kitagawa (ROUND TABLE), Shohei Koga (yourness), Shintaro Sakamoto, Anna Takeuchi, Kohei Dojima, tricot, and hiyune (chilldspot).


The album will include eight newly recorded songs based on Maaya Sakamoto’s original story titled “The Kioku no Toshokan” (Library of Memory). It follows a boy who collects discarded memories and returns some of the memory boxes to their owners. The album promises to be an immersive musical experience, exploring the memories of people from all over the world.

In addition to the original tracks, the album will also feature four tie-up songs. These include “Sumire,” the opening theme of the TV anime Deaimon; “Kotoba ni Dekinai,” the ED theme of the third season of the popular anime Ascendance of a Bookworm; “Mada Tooku ni Iru,” the ED theme of the WOWOW original anime Hikari no Oh; and “un_mute,” the theme song for the TV anime REVENGER.

Fans who purchase the Limited First Edition of the album will receive a Blu-ray disc with music videos for “Sumire,” “Mada Tooku ni Iru,” and “un_mute.”

To accompany the album announcement, Maaya Sakamoto released a new artist photo, cover photo, and TV commercial featuring the lead song “Naimononedari.” Fans can watch the TV commercial on Maaya Sakamoto’s official YouTube channel.